Kitchen Details: Sputnik Light

2 May

I was pretty dead-set on having a Sputnik chandelier in the kitchen right from the beginning.  The Boy was unconvinced for reasons such as 1.) worried it wouldn’t be enough light. 2.) would be difficult to keep clean in a kitchen. 3.) would cost a lot of money both in the actual light and electricity.  Well, as you can see, I did get my way, but not without a whole lot of stress.

The light pictured above is actually the 2nd Sputnik I purchased off of Ebay.  The first one arrived smashed by the post office.  It’s poor arms were sticking out from the box, all bent and broken.  It was so sad.  Luckily the seller had it insured.  I filed a report with the post office and waited.  And waited.  And waited.  Turns out the seller ALSO filed a report and the post office reimbursed him and not me.  Fortunately when I found out through the post office what had happened and contacted the seller, he was honest enough to send me a check.  That brings us to Sputnik #2.

Prepping to clean the Sputnik

I also bought the 2nd Sputnik off of Ebay.  The seller was really lousy and kept telling me that he was going to send it and then wouldn’t.  I waited for 6 weeks and finally had to file a report through Paypal.  I don’t know what Paypal said to the seller, but after I filed the report, he sent it out right away through FedEx.  It was well packed and arrived safely.  Whew!

The Boy was right about one thing – I do have to clean it every 3 months to keep it looking good.  Because it is so close to the stove, it gets a greasy film on the top which then collects dust.  I also have to take out all of the bulbs and hand scrub them to keep them clear and bright.

This light came with Sputnik bulbs which look like Christmas tree lights with ornamental glass “starbursts” wrapped around the bulb, but I used these round globe bulbs instead.  They are brighter and MUCH easier to keep clean.

So pretty!

Leave a Reply

