Frame Project

2 Mar

About a year ago I bought a set of 4 frames with painted street scenes on mirror from a garage sale.  I had them sitting on top of my fireplace mantel for a time until one inexplicably fell off and broke the mirror.  Since one was now broken and the paint was flaking heavily off the mirror on the others, I decided to just replace them with something else.  Here is one of the frames with the original mirror:

The black paint was chipped and needed to be repainted and there was that funky tape/edging stuff that used to be popular around the frame opening.  First I removed the old mirrors and pulled off the tape stuff from around the opening edge.  Then I gave them a spray with some gloss black paint.

I rather like Rustoleum Painter’s Touch.  It really does cover better that other spray paints that I have tried.

After the frames were dry, I taped off the inside edges of the frames and painted them turquoise with craft paint.

I also cut new glass for the frames.  This is super simple to do.  I had some extra glass sitting around from another frame that I was not using.  First I measured out the width of the glass and used a straightedge to draw a line with a permanent marker.  Then I used a glass scoring tool to score down the line that I drew with the marker (do not do this more than once or go over the score or else it won’t break cleanly-get it right the first time!).

I put a couple of pencils under the score line and pressed down on each side.  If you scored the glass properly, it should break cleanly down the line.

After I got all my glass cut, I found some images that I liked, cut them to size and put everything all back together.  The result:

I hung these right away in the kitchen.  The images in the frames are advertisements from the 60s & 70s.  I am happy with them for now, but will probably switch them out with other images or some original artwork down the line.

3 Responses to “Frame Project”

  1. eric dean spruth ma, atr March 3, 2012 at 8:04 AM #

    nice restoration! I am always on the hunt for dime store style plastic frams for my VONTIKI art paitings… thank you for attending our art show at 607 south lake street. We (millerbeachink.com) are working with the south shore dance allance down the street as well lake street gallery to have a monthly art opening… we have some great artist lined up your ideas are welcome… hope these recent photos of our “shop girl” isis violet make you smile… peace

  2. Carl Olson March 6, 2012 at 12:05 AM #

    I think those photos look familiar.

    • millerbeachmodern March 6, 2012 at 9:39 AM #

      Hehe. When I was first flipping through that calendar after you gave it to me I knew that sooner or later I would be pulling pages out!

Leave a Reply

