I Like to Imagine…

16 Feb

I used to watch a television show that was on TLC or HGTV or one of those types of networks where they profiled people who had taken old buildings (like a bank, gas station, barn, etc.) and turn them into into a home.  I like to dream about doing this some day.  There is a fire station not far from where I live that I think would make a splendid home.  It was in use by the fire department the first few years I lived here, but has since been closed.  Either last summer or the summer before, someone had stuck a “For Sale” sign in front of it.  I am assuming that it was a joke because the sign was gone the next day.  But for a second there, my mind was reeling with the possibilities.

Just look at all of those windows!  I really like the flat roof too.

I was once in the main center part of the fire station when they had voting there.  I was really trying to see what was in the left and right wings, but to no avail.  You know what I would do if I could live in this baby?

A glass garage door would be a must.  I would put the main living area in the center part.  It would be so amazing to open that door up during the summer and just let the breeze blow right on through.  I think I would keep the red trim around the windows as a nod to it’s original use and then punch it up with black trim around the roofline.  Maybe some bullet lights on each side of the glass door?  It would be delicious!

2 Responses to “I Like to Imagine…”

  1. John Lenti March 5, 2012 at 9:06 AM #

    fun blog! thanks – I will tell friends about it.

    Thanks

  2. Kristin January 4, 2013 at 10:50 AM #

    My husband and I actually own one and live in it in Kansas!! It is fun and crazy!

Leave a Reply

