Welcome to Miller Beach!

12 Feb

 

Miller Beach?  5 years ago I could not begin to tell you anything about it even though I lived only 40 minutes away.  I had never been there.  I had heard of it, but could not point it out on a map.  Then one day my mom found an open house listing for a really cool, really modern looking home in the newspaper.  This new construction home was in “Miller Beach.” Hmmmm…

I love mid-century and modern architecture.  The arrival of Atomic Ranch magazine every 3 months is practically an event onto itself.  I was starting to think about buying my first home, but everything where I was living was very, well, not mid-century.  McMansions galore.  Plenty of 1970’s ranches, bi-levels, and tri-levels.  The occasional modest 1950’s ranch.  Sigh.

So, off to Miller we went to look at this really cool house which was unlike anything anyone else was building in Northwest Indiana (and which was also hopelessly out of my price range-but it doesn’t cost to look, right?).  The house was amazing and furnished with lots of MCM goodies and it was right by the beach.  Beach?  Ah, Lake Michigan.  The Dunes.  Gorgeous.  I could happily live in this house.

I did not buy the house (Did you think I was going to?  I already said it was hopelessly out of my price range!).  We left the fab modern home and decided to drive along the lakeshore and through the neighborhoods sightseeing.  Along the way I saw plenty of amazing mid-century and modern homes.  Then we stumbled upon a neighborhood of what I would later learn are called “Hoosier” homes.  It was love. I looked over at my mom in the passenger seat and said, “I am so excited that I think I might pee my pants!”  I needed one of these houses.  But Miller Beach?  I didn’t know anything about the area other than it technically is in Gary.  Is it safe?  What about resale values?

I took down some phone numbers from the “For Sale” signs in front of the homes I liked, but didn’t call.  About 3 months later I met a couple who had been living in Miller for 25+ years.  They assured me that it is a wonderful place to live and then gave me the phone number for a real estate agent.  Three days later I gave him a call.  And so began the journey.  Welcome to Miller Beach.

7 Responses to “Welcome to Miller Beach!”

  1. Nora Thompson Myres February 15, 2012 at 9:56 PM #

    What a wonderful job you have done…that bathroom is gorgeous! That will make the other Hoosier homeowners step up to the plate! I grew up in a Keck&Keck house on Ripley Street. Don’t know if you are familiar with their homes, but it was and still is, a great house.

    • millerbeachmodern February 16, 2012 at 10:54 AM #

      Oooooohhhhh! Keck & Keck. I bet I know exactly which house that is! As I go along with this blog, I plan to profile lots of homes throughout the community. Perhaps you will see yours someday. You don’t by chance have any old pictures of it that you would like to share?

      • miller wanabe August 11, 2012 at 7:12 AM #

        love the site and your hoosier home. Its amazing what they look like after renovations. I have been through a few of them the layout is quite functional and the basements really add to the expanse of the home.I have visions of a updated version of the hoosier home.I have spent some time in southern C.A. love the homes there. I have driven past your home many times great job.I am a miller wanabe maybe some day!!!!

      • millerbeachmodern August 11, 2012 at 10:56 AM #

        I agree that Hoosier homes are really functional and well planned. Thanks for the compliments!

  2. Peggy August 5, 2012 at 10:09 PM #

    Enjoyed reading your blog as I own one of the townhomes down by Wells Street. Love your enthusiasm and appreciation for Miller. Welcome and great Job!!

  3. Sharon October 30, 2012 at 7:16 AM #

    You are bursting with talent, home is charming!

  4. Peggy October 30, 2012 at 12:26 PM #

    Your new bath remodel looks wonderful, a great blend of new modern and old retro. Nicely, done, and I like that you used the laminate counter. It’s a great choice of color, durability and cost.! Also, love the “new” old front door, a perfect choice! Keep up the great work, : )

Leave a Reply

